I know, I know, my 30 straight days of writing is turning into 30 every-other-days of writing.  I have nothing I can say in my defense.  There’s no reason for me to be so inconsistent with my efforts to incorporate writing into my everyday life, but I will say that I have written every day this month.  Just not on this blog.

What follows is a dismally short list of my successful and unsuccessful ventures in daily written production.

SUCCESSES:

Morning Pages – As mentioned previously, I have started a project wherein I write three handwritten pages stream of consciousness style each day.  I do not edit and I am not allowed to reread for at least thirty days.  I’ve succeeded in doing this 4 of the last 5 days!

Journaling – I’ve always been a journaler, though I hardly keep a completely chronological timeline of my daily life.  Typically, my journal entries run about one handwritten page and sum up my general frame of mind at the time of writing.  I also often write about the spiritual topics I am exploring in my daily studies at that time.

FAILURES:

Novel – My novel continues to be a weight around my neck, a constant reminder of personal failure, a beacon of my own mediocrity in fiction writing.  I refuse, however, to let yet another story drop by the wayside without at least doing it the honor of finishing it first, no matter how shitty that first draft will turn out to be.

Reading about Writing – I continue to study the books I’ve bought on writing, but only with terrible inconsistency.  I love the books.  I just love television more.

This blog – Obviously, this blog makes the list of failures, since I’ve sputtered to an every-other-day schedule after my over-ambitious and naive beginnings.

 

Today:  A mixed bag of failure and success
Today’s Project:  to explore how those things which come naturally to me (namely, journaling and a daily exercise in stream of consciousness) can be used to aid those ailing elements of my attempt at authorship.  Perhaps my daily stream of consciousness can be forced to focus on the storyline of my novel?  My subconscious groans in response.
(Day before) Yesterday’s Project: As for my goal of repeating the “Reading to Prompt Writing” experiment, I’m sure you can guess that I failed.  I will be try, trying again today!

聊聊可以嘛